Slings

• prosigna
  • prosigna's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
19 years 4 months ago - 19 years 4 months ago #124167 by prosigna
Slings was created by prosigna
I am brand new to tree climbing. While collecting gear I have to make what I have work. I do not yet have a friction saver to place in the tree. Would a spliced loop made from 10' of 1/2'' ArborPlex make an acceptable sling?

Josh

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Bradley Ford
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
19 years 4 months ago - 19 years 4 months ago #124168 by Bradley Ford
Replied by Bradley Ford on topic Slings
I have not seen a sling used as a friction saver. False crotch versus rope saver shows examples of what I've seen used to protect the tree and the rope. How will you place your sling in the tree?

More
19 years 4 months ago - 19 years 4 months ago #124170 by Tom Dunlap
Replied by Tom Dunlap on topic Slings
Do you know how to splice Arborplex? All of the splicers that I know say that splicing AP is possible but too much work.

I've made false crotches by using a scaffold hitch tied to a large biner and then using a screw link for the small end. Adding a pulley to the screw link makes for a smooth setup.

Tom

Strong limbs and single ropes!
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

• prosigna
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
19 years 4 months ago - 19 years 4 months ago #124171 by prosigna
Replied by prosigna on topic Slings