Climbing in Southwest Virginia (SWVA)

• Chelonian72
  • Chelonian72's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
3 years 3 months ago #139708 by Chelonian72
Climbing in Southwest Virginia (SWVA) was created by Chelonian72
Hi, I'm Alan. I'm a middle-aged ("pushing 50") nature and landscaping geek. For my "day job," I train new transit employees how to operate buses, so safety is something I think about ALL the time. I've been climbing for about six or seven years since I took a two-day class with Bob Wray of Blue Ridge Tree Climbing, LLC. He teaches a "minimal hardware" double-rope (DRT) approach to recreational climbing. The only hardware I have used (until this year) is a set of triple-lock carabiners, a figure-eight descender, and a New Tribe Harness. Everything else is ropes - the primary line, split-tail, and secondary lanyard - and knots! And Bob Wray insisted we know them cold and by feel! The Blakes Hitch is the main friction knot, and it is the lifesaver! Get that wrong and you've got a quick trip to the floor! The highest I have ever been is about 70 feet, but I'm usually in the tree by myself with a friend on the ground. The friend I took the class with has not been available to climb with me for a while. As a Christmas gift to myself this year, I bought myself my first foot ascender - a double cam setup by Notch that's kind to rope - and boy does it rock! After using just a foot-lock loop technique (i.e., just the rope) for several years, the solid grip of the foot ascender on the rope was amazing. I don't consider it "essential," because I've mastered the foot-lock technique, but it has substantial slip, particularly when you don't have a lot of rope-weight beneath you.