Southeast Ohio Climber

• Greenluck
  • Greenluck's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
More
7 years 5 months ago #137702 by Greenluck
Southeast Ohio Climber was created by Greenluck
Hello there. I've been climbing since 2009. I've always loved trees and grew up in rural southeastern Ohio which has one of the most diverse hardwood forests in the world. I originally started climbing to assist my brother-in-law with clearing some trees around his house since he couldn't afford the $5000+ removal bid. So we bought about $600 in equipment and we got it safely done. The only trouble was I was hooked and started recreational climbing and helping family and friends with removals and pruning on the side. I learned using DDRT then quickly switched over to SRT for the efficiency and the love of gear. I've always dreamed of starting a local recreational tree climbing company and an aerial services company. I'm currently considering taking the Tree Climbing Training offered by TCI but it's a stretch financially because of the long distance I would need to travel. I'm hoping that 2017 may be the year I take the course.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 5 months ago #137706 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Southeast Ohio Climber
Welcome to the TCI forum, looks like you're well equipped and well on your way. There is a very active rec tree climber community in Ohio: Bill and Shelley Byrne, Duane Hook, and many more. If you're on FB it's fairly easy to tap into that community.

One of the best ways to get discussion going here is to post reports on your rec climbs, photo, observations, technical questions, it's all good material to share and get responses on.
-AJ

• Greenluck
  • Greenluck's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
More
7 years 5 months ago #137721 by Greenluck
Replied by Greenluck on topic Southeast Ohio Climber