Looking to get into tree climbing in New Jersey.

• draknats
  • draknats's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
12 years 2 months ago #135697 by draknats
Hey y'all,

I've been into hiking and the likes for quite a while, and I now have my sights on tree climbing. I have some experience with indoor rock climbing, but no (recent) experience with tree climbing. (Also, I have no equipment)

Any suggestions on how to get started? I live in the NYC/Philly area (South Jersey to be more precise) and would like to start learning the art. The catch is that I'm on a shoestring budget, so I can't, for instance, go to Georgia and spend $500 on a course (at least not in the immediate future).

In the meantime, I plan on ordering the DVD and book from this website.

Thanks for any input,
Al.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 2 months ago #135698 by Treezybreez
Replied by Treezybreez on topic Re:Looking to get into tree climbing in New Jersey.
There are a few recommendations that I can think of. First off don't buy a rope shorter than 150'. When I started I bought 120' and it was too short for most trees in my area.

I know throw line can be expensive, however there is nothing I have found that can be a substitute. When I started I spent hours trying to set a line using masonry string. It would stick to bark, branches and tangle more often than not. 2.2mm "Fling-It" is what I use now.

The book "The Tree Climber's Companion" is a great source for learning the ropes. It also has a section in the back that shows how to tie knots useful for tree climbing.

Wesspur.com and Treestuff.com are great places to buy gear.

I am sure others will chime in to.

• draknats
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
12 years 2 months ago #135699 by draknats
Have you watched the DVD? Think it would teach me the fundamentals of tree climbing and give me a good point of reference to start with?