Question regarding Cambium Saver

• CacheClimber
  • CacheClimber's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
6 years 6 months ago #137927 by CacheClimber
Question regarding Cambium Saver was created by CacheClimber
I'm completely new to using ropes to climb trees and so I'll probably ask some dumb questions along the way, so please don't be too critical but let me know if my thinking is wrong.

I just purchased a set of gear and am slowly working out how to use it. My purchase included the following:

120' SHERRILLTREE POISON HI-VY ROPE 11.7MM
SHERRILLTREE NEON 3 THROWLINE COMBO
STEIN RETRIEVAL BALL
SHERRILLTREE HITCH CLIMBER PULLEY COMBO
CLIMBING TECHNOLOGY QUICK STEP FOOT ASCENDER
5/8IN X 6FT KMIII GREEN ADJUSTABLE FRICTION SAVER
PETZL GYM ADJUSTABLE HARNESS
TEUFELBERGER CE LANYARD 4M

My decisions about what to purchase were guided by a tree climbing course that I took as well as keeping the inital cost reasonable so some of this gear will likely be upgraded at need. I was looking to give tree climbing a try before going "all in" and spending a lot of money.

So far, I've used the throwline, etc, to place the friction save over a low branch. After using the friction saver without the prussic a couple times, I managed to get my retrieval ball stuck in the carabiner. I wondered what I had done wrong and decided that the carabiner wasn't a substitute for the small ring on the prussic.

I then used the friction saver with the prussic and found that the carabiner end made it more challenging to get the rings over the branch. So now I'm debating what step to take next. Possibilities:
1) use the gear instead of spending more money.
2) buy a "simple" ring-ring friction saver
a) what size (length) to buy
b) cordage or rope based
3) a leather friction saver.

I would appreciate any advice or pointers (pro/con points) that will help me not make another "mistake."

CacheClimber

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More