Non-Hitch Progress Capture

• Ronop
  • Ronop's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
6 years 10 months ago #137880 by Ronop
Non-Hitch Progress Capture was created by Ronop
I'm new to rope climbing. Have done so much research that I'm all tangled-up in the noggin. Sure are lots of creative and complicated ways to climb. my confusion comes with how gear is paired. If I'm climbing with a walking technique, using a foot ascender and the SAKA, is a device like the ISC D4 or Petzl i'D locked on my harness enough for progress capture, positioning, fall protection and descent? Seems like the most commonly used method is a hitch climber set-up with the Rope Wrench. I like the simplicity and compactness of the single mechanical device, less to deal with or get tangled. Am I thinking in the wrong direction?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago - 6 years 10 months ago #137881 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Non-Hitch Progress Capture
With a D4 or I'D a Yo-Yo/RADS is a strong SRT option. I don' think a SAKA would be useful in a RADS, it's really optimized for rope walking on devices like the the Rope Wrench, Rope Runner, Hitchhiker etc.

RADS is an excellent SRT technique to get started on but it is not a rope walker. Pulling on the tail of the rope in a RADS is a 3:1 mechanical advantage, a foot ascender or SAKA is way overdoing it pulling 3:1 MA, it would be like riding on the flats or downhill on a bike in first gear.

I might have already posted this, a friend trying out a RADS for the second time, he liked it:

You can't rope walk on a D4 or I'D, rope walking depends on a straight rope path through whatever devices are in use, the rope needs to drop through easily as you ascend.
-AJ
Last edit: 6 years 10 months ago by moss.

More
6 years 10 months ago #137882 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Non-Hitch Progress Capture