Equipment for Tropical Rainforest climbing?

• rrsuro
  • rrsuro's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 5 months ago #136238 by rrsuro
Hello,

I'm a recent grad who is volunterring at a research station in west borneo. I'm going to be doing some tree climbing for a research project. While I have experience rock climbing, it'll be my first time in the trees. I need to buy the equipment I need, but I'm on a budget. Can you suggest what I need to buy? I'm looking for dependable brands, but more on the budget side of thing - any recommended models for ascenders/ropes/harnesses? I'll probably be using SRT, because the trees I'm planning to climb can get pretty high. Also, I need tips for what equipment I need for rope placement. I was suggested a compound bow, but I don't know much more information. Any help?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 5 months ago #136239 by moss

rrsuro wrote: Hello,

I'm a recent grad who is volunterring at a research station in west borneo. I'm going to be doing some tree climbing for a research project. While I have experience rock climbing, it'll be my first time in the trees. I need to buy the equipment I need, but I'm on a budget. Can you suggest what I need to buy? I'm looking for dependable brands, but more on the budget side of thing - any recommended models for ascenders/ropes/harnesses? I'll probably be using SRT, because the trees I'm planning to climb can get pretty high. Also, I need tips for what equipment I need for rope placement. I was suggested a compound bow, but I don't know much more information. Any help?

Thanks!

Where are you located? Would be very helpful if you could do some climbs with a tree climber in your area to get an understanding of basic tree climbing technique and safety protocols, what you're asking sounds simple but it's not.
-AJ

• rrsuro
  • rrsuro's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More