Harness for overweight people

• wcman852
  • wcman852's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 7 months ago #136099 by wcman852
Harness for overweight people was created by wcman852
I am a beginner and have made a few short climbs. I currently have a rock climbing harness. My problem is that I am top heavy and tend to lean back when sitting in my harness. I have used webbing to make a chest harness but it is extremely uncomfortable.
I purchased a Black Diamond Vario Chest Harness. It is more comfortable put does not keep me up right enough. I know a tree climbing harness would be much more comfortable than my rock climbing harness but would it make difference on my leaning back problem? It appears that some of the tree climbing harnesses have more support for the butt and I think this might help but I'm not sure. I need to solve my physical discomfort problem before I make more advanced climbs. Any help or comments would greatly be appreciated.
Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 7 months ago #136118 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Harness for overweight people
A New Tribe harness will be way more comfortable than a rock harness. You'll still lean back with extra upper body weight but if it's combined with a chest harness you'll be getting a better overall tree climbing system.
-AJ

• wcman852
  • wcman852's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 7 months ago #136121 by wcman852
Replied by wcman852 on topic Harness for overweight people
Thanks AJ for the response. I plan on buying a New Tribe Harness as soon as the funds become available.

More
10 years 7 months ago - 10 years 7 months ago #136122 by TreeTramp
Replied by TreeTramp on topic Harness for overweight people

http://www.treestuff.com/store/catalog.asp?item=2312