The "Fly" vs. the "Velocity"

• charlieb
  • charlieb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
More
18 years 11 months ago - 18 years 11 months ago #125151 by charlieb
I'm a newbie and have read comments in the past of the benefits of the Fly and not much about Samson's new Velocity. However these pros and cons are quite old already and am wondering if ya'll experts out there have had any change in your opinion about the Fly and/or if anyone has any detailed experiences of the Velocity, especially do you think it is comparable. And of course what's the disadvantages? Please help since I would like to purchase soon! Thanks so much. Charlie Brown. Fellow climber.

Safe climbin.
Charlie Brown.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 11 months ago - 18 years 11 months ago #125152 by TreeTramp
Replied by TreeTramp on topic My Opinion on Fly
At the Nebraska Rendezvous I climbed on both ropes.

I use the Sportline all the time and were going to buy some more rope so we had to test each kind.

To my surprize I hated the Velocity rope due to sticky coating. I cant tell why they did it but the Fly rope is smooth as silk.

We all love the Fly so much we bought a 600 foot roll from Voila at NewTribe.

See you at the top,
Dan

• charlieb
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
More
18 years 11 months ago - 18 years 11 months ago #125153 by charlieb
Replied by charlieb on topic Thanks Dan
A couple of other specific questions if you or anyone knows. Does the Fly or the Velocity get much heavier when wet? Do they both tend to dry out as easliy? Is one or the other more abrasion resistant? Do you have to milk the Velocity a little eventhough Samson says you don't? Are they both about as stretchy? Does the velocity hold the Blake's hitch as well?
Thanks all for any input.
CharlieB.

Safe climbin.
Charlie Brown.

More
18 years 11 months ago - 18 years 11 months ago #125154 by nickfromwi