Greetings

• ArborPatrol
  • ArborPatrol's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
18 years 5 months ago - 18 years 5 months ago #126513 by ArborPatrol
Greetings was created by ArborPatrol
Hello to everyone on the TCI message board. My name is Josh Galiley. I am a Brooklyn based arborist. I have been climbing professionally for 5 years. I have taught recreational tree climbing at the New York Botanical Garden (where I work) since 2001. I figure with Sherrill making moves and the rec. tree climbing culture growing in general, it might be a good time to more formally join the cause. I hope this message finds everyone well for the holidays. Take care...Josh

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 5 months ago - 18 years 5 months ago #126515 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Greetings
Welcome Josh, looking forward to your participation in the rec climbing community.

From your NY Botanical Garden perspective you have unique qualifications to discuss the problem of where to climb for urban rec climbers. Many of us end up mixing unauthorized ninja climbs into our climbing activities. The ideal would be to gain institutional (private) and public (city) support for designated climbing areas. Don't know exactly how it would work. I wouldn't want to see an individual tree stressed by heavy climbing use. The solution may be to have several trees designated as ok to climb on a rotating schedule to lesssen impact. If such a system was put in place there would be the question of whether or not climbers would need to apply for some kind of permit (show climbing competence) in order to climb in the designated areas.

Don't expect all the questions to be answered any time soon, interested in hearing your (or anyone's) thoughts on how to deal with this problem.
-moss

More
18 years 5 months ago - 18 years 5 months ago #126520 by treeman
Replied by treeman on topic HI Josh!