New Tribe's revised Grapnel design

• moss
  • moss's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
14 years 8 months ago - 14 years 8 months ago #133989 by moss
I've been using New Tribe's revised Grapnel for a couple of months now. I can't restrain myself, it is excellent! Percentage of grabs per attempts is waayy up compared to a conventional grapple shape. Yesterday I became even more convinced. I was having a particularly tough time setting a line in a big white pine, ie: there is so much sap coming off the bumper crop of cones this year that it's really tough to get a bag to come down after a throw through the crown. On my fifth attempt to get a branch (the other four throws were on target but no dice getting drop) I finally got the bag to come down but I had to do some work to move the line closer in to the tree while I was doing that the line became somewhat more difficult to move. I loaded up the bag with two 12oz bags and started hauling them up, duh! I was a little tired in the high heat and humidity and missed the basic rule: don't pull a bag up if it won't move down on its own. Before my brain kicked back in the two bags were up 25 ft.

To solve I clipped the Grapnel on to the bottom loop of an 8 oz throw bag (with throwline attached) and started tossing it at the line above the 2 bags. Kind of a tough target as you can imagine. First throw missed, second throw hit and immediately grabbed and held, game over.

Thanks are due to Michael Spraggon who is the one who first suggested the new design to New Tribe.
-moss
Last edit: 14 years 8 months ago by moss.
The following user(s) said Thank You: gsteinfeld67

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 8 months ago #133992 by nickfromwi
Replied by nickfromwi on topic Re: New Tribe's revised Grapnel design
I have a blue one that I love. I can't imagine it getting any better...but from what I'm hearing, the yellow one IS better. I may have to upgrade.