• moss
  • moss's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
19 years 2 months ago - 19 years 2 months ago #124855 by moss
Getting started - rope question was created by moss
Hello folks,
I'm just getting started with basic equipment to do some DRT on the ground/low practice. I'd like to buy a length of rope that will allow me to explore knots and put weight on a saddle. I don't want this short length to become obsolete when I get a long rope later, I'm thinking it could eventually become my daisy rope.

So, what do you think about diameter, length and rope type for this purpose? Would it be a waste to get a 25 ft. length of say Safety Blue 1/2", or is that too heavy for a daisy rope? Would something like an 11mm Fly be better suited for this kind of use?

Your comments are appreciated!

-moss (still on the ground)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 years 2 months ago - 19 years 2 months ago #124863 by treeman
Replied by treeman on topic Short rope climbing
Start with at least a 50-60 foot rope. That will allow you to climb up about 20 feet. Start with ½ inch arborist rope. It is easier to grip. A 16 strand braided rope is best. Yale, Sampson, or New England rope are the best manufacturers.

Waving from a treetop,
Peter Treeman Jenkins

• moss
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
19 years 2 months ago - 19 years 2 months ago #124864 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Getting started - rope question
That makes sense, thanks for the advice.

More
19 years 2 months ago - 19 years 2 months ago #124871 by Electrojake
Replied by Electrojake on topic Getting started - rope question
Moss,

Click on the links below for some more “rope” info…
www.samsonrope.com/home/newarborist/index2.cfm

www.yalecordage.com/html/climb.html

www.neropes.com/arborist/default.htm

Below is a small PDF.
www.samsonrope.com/home/pdf/new/Arbormaster-datasheet.pdf