Suggestions for climbing technique for maples?

• eleniontolto
  • eleniontolto's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
13 years 3 weeks ago #135297 by eleniontolto
I am an undergrad and am going to be doing some research for my senior project studying the distribution of epiphytes on big leaf maples over in the olympic peninsula, in Washington State. I am looking at epiphytes only on the trunk of the tree, on the N, S, E and W sides of the tree. So, I need a technique that will allow me to stay close to the trunk and to move horizontally around the tree if possible. I have experience with SRT but have not ventured into any of the more complex iterations.

So...my question, does anybody here have a suggestion for what technique might work best for this? Thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 3 weeks ago #135299 by Treezybreez
Replied by Treezybreez on topic Re:Suggestions for climbing technique for maples?
Here is a system Steve Sillett used to study the canopy of redwood trees. http://wesspur.com/images/treegear/kit31-500.gif It is basically just two split tail doubled rope climbing systems. You could have one Doubled rope system on one side of the trunk attached to the lowest crotch in the canopy and another on the other side of the trunk. The anchor point for both ropes should be close to the trunk to reduce the effort of advancing the friction hitch.

I am not sure if this is exactly what you are looking for.

More
13 years 2 weeks ago - 13 years 2 weeks ago #135306 by moss
Treezybreez has you off on a good start.

Since you're already climbing SRT I recommend looking at a RADS system, it allows you to quickly switch from ascent to descent mode without significant gear changes. The technique allows considerable mobility in a tree. Here is some video I posted on the RADS technique:

You can also do a search to find more info on it.