Ascending with just rope?

• Davej
  • Davej's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
15 years 6 months ago #132034 by Davej
Ascending with just rope? was created by Davej
Ok, I'm a noob and still waiting for the book and DVD, but I'd like to start practicing ascending. I won't go too high. If my rope is 1/2\" 12-strand arborist stuff then what should I use to make two Prusik loops for my feet? I'm thinking the Prusiks would go above the Blake's hitch. Also what is it with using a pulley to push the Blake's hitch? Wouldn't a small carabiner or even a loop of cord do this?

Thanks,

Dave

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 6 months ago - 15 years 6 months ago #132038 by oldtimer
Replied by oldtimer on topic Re:Ascending with just rope?
Dave, Wait until you get the books read them TWICE and get the rest of the safety gear before you try to improvise. The new techniques are easy to accomplish as soon as you the get basics. Do not rush the process or you may become another casualty like the few ones we have been reading of lately in the Accidents Report section of the TCI and Arborist forum. Gravity always wins!:blush:

Instruction from a Trained Facilitator or Arborist will go a long way on how you develop your climbing and safety technique. B)