Hi from New Hampshire

• inspectorgadget
  • inspectorgadget's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
5 years 11 months ago #138052 by inspectorgadget
Hi from New Hampshire was created by inspectorgadget
I'm Russ Hall, a new member in Union, NH. Done some tree maintenance and removal in trees above the reach of a 30 foot bucket truck, but don't have access to that truck any more. It's been exciting to discover I can get up a tree without the truck. I'm a retired machinist and nuclear inspector, so I'm into the challenge and satisfaction of making my own equipment where I can. Made a pretty descent harness starting with an old safety belt. I have a cobblers treadle sewing machine that can handle pretty thick stuff. I'm currently working on making a "big shot" type throw line launcher using aluminum tubes I have. I'll buy the Big Shot pouch & elastic tubes from Bartlett, but to complete what I can make, I need to know the diameter of the rod they make the "Y" out of that the tubing slides onto. If anyone has one, and would be willing to measure the diameter of those rods, I would be very grateful. If you happen to be able to measure it with a micrometer of caliper that would be great. I guessing it's around 1/2"(.500) or 7/16"(.437) or maybe metric (11, 12, 12.5, or 13 mm). Thanks for the help.
I was given a nice Blue Water rope by an x-caver. Been studying Treeman's DVD and practicing knots. Only done a 10' test climb, and that motivated me to buy a foot ascender. Will try that when all the snow is gone.
I'd like to communicate with other climbers, especially ones in my area. Looking forward to sharing a climb some time in the future. Best to you. Russ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #138053 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Hi from New Hampshire
Hello Russ,
Welcome to the TCI forum!