• benjhind
  • benjhind's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
7 years 6 days ago #137823 by benjhind
New Rec Climber - Ontario was created by benjhind
Hi All,

I'm a new climber in Ontario Canada. I'm an avid outdoorsman and started because I wanted to be safe while placing and hunting from tree stands. I'm learning from the Tree Climber's Companion and the National Tree Climbing Guide (yes, I'm one of those terrible self-taught types).

Rope:
I have a 200' length of 11mm KMIII. This isn't ideal but was what I could find locally. I find a blake's hitch difficult to tie in the KMIII, so I climb DdRT using 8mm prusik loops and a homemade conduit friction saver. I girth hitch a webbing loop to extend a smaller prusik loop for a foot loop. Right now I advance by tying myself off using loops of tubular webbing and advancing the main line. I don't like having slack so I will switch to a lanyard and prusik eventually for adjustability. I don't seem to use the full 200' so I may cut a lanyard from my main line, but would rather have a different colour (advice here is appreciated). I do try to minimize trips into the city so I'd be waiting a while for a lanyard in a second colour. I like the 11mm rope as it allows me to use a belay device to descend.

Harness:
I use a rock harness (black diamond momentum), which isn't bad but it isn't great. I'm going to add some padding to the leg loops to help distribute the force.

Other gear:
I use a hiking pack to haul my rope and gear in, and I find it works perfectly for the task. I stuff the rope into the main compartment and have tons of pockets for other gear. I sewed up some throw bags using faux-leather and salvaged lead, which I quite like. My throw line is mason line which I do not like, as it tangles. I use an ATC device to rappel, which allows me to use both ends of my doubled main line. I like this as it distributes the friction and wear well. I use a prusik as a backup for safety.