• hannanguns
  • hannanguns's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
8 years 9 months ago #137393 by hannanguns
starter kits was created by hannanguns
Hello all
I'm new to the climbing world and I am torn between what starter kits to get for my first set there are two main kits I'm looking at and need some advice. I'm planing on trimming some trees and doing some recreational climbing so I'm going to be spending some serious time in the saddle. I want to be able to do branch walking. The kits I'm looking at are https://www.bartlettman.com/mobile/product.asp?itemid=1318
And
http://wesspur.com/climbing-kits/basic-rope-climbing-kit.html

I'm looking for pros and cons of each kit if anyone can help

Thanks for your time
Phil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 9 months ago #137394 by 2chops
Replied by 2chops on topic starter kits
Welcome aboard. First, are you going to climb for fun or for a living? If for fun, forget either of those two kits. Look up the basic recreational climbing kit on the Wesspur site. Treeman helped assemble the package. Big difference is the type of saddle and cambium saver. For rec climbing the New Tribe saddles are hard to beat.

If you plan to climb to do tree work, either of the two you linked to will do just fine. I rec climbed with my Buckingham work saddle for 2 years before I got the New Tribe Tengu. The Bucko was OK. But twice the weight. Something to consider. Especially if you plan to climb in areas that you have to backpack into. An extra pound or three really adds up when lugging it around.

More
7 years 9 months ago - 7 years 9 months ago #137628 by thearne3
Replied by thearne3 on topic starter kits
Hi,

Also trying to decide on a basic kit. The major sellers seem to change their kits over time.