Treeboat Drain

• blakeshitch
  • blakeshitch's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
19 years 11 months ago - 19 years 11 months ago #123507 by blakeshitch
Treeboat Drain was created by blakeshitch
Has anyone ever considered a treeboat drain? A rain fly is best for rainy weather but a sudden shower can create quite a puddle. It seems that a brass grommet would be a perfect drain. Any thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• jmaher
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
19 years 11 months ago - 19 years 11 months ago #123509 by jmaher
Replied by jmaher on topic Treeboat Drain
Yeah! I, too, have considered placing a grommet dead-center in the middle of the bed of my tree boat. The only reason I haven't gotten around to it is that I am not very good at doing those sorts of things and I'm scared silly that if I did it, the next time I put my weight on the thing the hole would probably go berserk, rip wide open and I'd fall right through the thing!

During heavy rains I have had my tree boat become an airborne pond more than once, and on one occasion it got so much water in it that I couldn't even tip it over. I had to use a bailing bucket.

Sophia---If you are reading this, what are your thoughts on the matter?

More
19 years 11 months ago - 19 years 11 months ago #123514 by knothead
Replied by knothead on topic Treeboat Drain
I've considered it also. Since the hammock is made of nylon canvas, it would probably be best to melt the hole with a hot poker to seal the edges. After that, a plastic grommet might be better than a brass one.

Regards,
-Knothead

More
19 years 11 months ago - 19 years 11 months ago #123540 by treeman
So who's it gonna be? Who first? You do sleep with harness and rope tied in, right? Imagine- late at night- a ripping sound. Dream or reality? Where ya gonna fall? Suddenly- its you in the harness again. Or- it was just a figment of your vivid imagination. Who's up for the test?

Waving from a treetop,