Searching for "Lost Treeclimber Mine"

• wildbill
  • wildbill's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
19 years 7 months ago - 19 years 7 months ago #123968 by wildbill
Here's your chance to join Joe Maher (Joe of the Jungle) in a treetop hunt on Saturday, Sept. 11 along the Etowah River in the north Georgia mountains, as he searches for one of the area's most elusive treasures. The following paragraphs, from the annals of local history, should give you a clue:

“His name was Johannes Abram (or Abraham) Winterouton and he came from Bavaria to the beautiful mountains of northeast Georgia early in the year 1833, at the ripe young age of 24. He was in search of the precious yellow metal that had been discovered only a few months previously beneath the tree-covered slopes that led upward from the clear waters of the Etowah River. He was an arborist by trade in his native country, but he also had spent a few brief months as a brewer’s apprentice in the city of Munich.

“His knowledge of beermaking served young Winterouton well in the shanty towns called Nucklesville and Silver City and Dougherty that grew up along the post road that paralleled the river near the gold strike. The hard-sweating and thirsty miners appreciated the fine yellow pilsner that he brewed in a secret shaft near the other mens’ diggings. They soon began to call it the “Treeclimber’s Beer.”

"Alas, the gold ran out before Winterouton could amass a huge fortune, so he decided to head west to the bigger strikes in the Rockies and the far-distant California hills. Before he left, though, the young brewer hid the entrance to his mine shaft where his remaining beer supply was stored.

“He never returned. Winterouton was erroneously convicted in a Sacramento courtroom of claim-jumping and was hanged from a giant sycamore tree he hadn’t even had the chance to climb.