multiple TIPs for increased safety?

• cinch
  • cinch's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 9 months ago #136074 by cinch
Hi,
I'm a self-taught tree climbing beginner. I've done several climbs, all using the DdRT, with a split-tail system, using a Blake's hitch, tying the climbing line to carabiner with a double fisherman's. I put slipknots in the climbing line every 6 feet or so. I try to really take my time, and while I'm happy with my safety practices, I feel like I could always use more.
One thing that seems like would help with safety is having two simultaneous doubled-rope setups; if one branch breaks, at least you are still double-roped to another branch. It seems like from the Tree Climber's Companion that this method is used to move around the tree anyway. My question is: does anyone use two TIPs always, just as a matter of safety? It would obviously take longer to set up, but maybe it's worth it. And do you use two climbing ropes? Or just one, with one half of the rope over one branch, and the other half of the rope over the other branch, with the saddle connected to the middle of the rope?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 9 months ago #136075 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Re: multiple TIPs for increased safety?
The way I look at it is, I won't hang my life on a limb unless I have confidence in it. On a first ascent of a new tree I tie into a large limb, once I'm up in the tree i can inspect more closely for any gotchas not visible from the ground. Once I've inspected the upper parts of the tree closely I can make a more accurate assessment of what is safe to tie into and what isn't for that particular tree. In other words I don't rely on a second climbing rope/redundant tie-in but I'm cautious for a first ascent.