Climbing systems

• climbhigher
  • climbhigher's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 10 months ago #136060 by climbhigher
Climbing systems was created by climbhigher
Hello My name is Dylan I am a new member. I've been doing tree trimming and removal for a little over a year now. I am self taught through books and other forms of literature. I was curious what kinds of set-ups other climbers use and what you all think works efficently while exerting the smallest amout of energy, but overall whi
le still being as safe as humanely possible. For trim jobs I usually use a split-tail system with carabiners, a micro pulley as a slack-tender, and a foot ascender. I've been thinking of saving to purchase a mechanical ascender to create less friction but I like the friction hitch that I use it seems reliable. Let me know what kinfd of set-ups you use or any advice you might have for an up an coming arborist thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 10 months ago #136061 by 2chops
Replied by 2chops on topic Re: Climbing systems
Welcome aboard Weclimb. Speaking only for myself, I prefer simplicity over a bunch of do dads. I prefer a split tail system, and use a biner for a slack tender. I've not tried any of the mechanical ascenders and to tell you the truth, I have no particular interest to. I have nothing against the new trinkets. They're just not my thing. The only trinket I use is a Gibs microcender for my lanyard adjustment. Now THAT is worth its weight in gold. Way better than the old prusik adjuster.

Ron
The following user(s) said Thank You: climbhigher

• climbhigher
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 10 months ago #136062 by climbhigher
Replied by climbhigher on topic Re: Climbing systems