wannabe arborist

• coonrad
  • coonrad's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
17 years 10 months ago - 17 years 10 months ago #127627 by coonrad
wannabe arborist was created by coonrad
I've been working with computer networks for the past 8 years or so. I've been successful and make decent money. However, I have trouble seeing myself sitting in front of a computer for another 8 years. Have you seen the movie 'office space?'...think of me.

I want to become an arborist and work outside. How do I do that? I figured the best way would be to get a job as a groudsman and start studying for my arborist certification. Once I get certified and have a few years experience. Start my own gig. That's the plan atleast. What do you folks in the business have to say about that?

I'm in the northwest (conifer world). Is most of the work takedowns here...or is there alot of pruning and other work? I don't think I'd be happy just doing takedowns.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 9 months ago - 17 years 9 months ago #127654 by moss
Replied by moss on topic wannabe arborist
Hello Coonrad,
If you don't get enough response here you'll find a bunch of treeworkers who will be glad to talk about getting into the biz on either of the these websites:
TreeBuzz
Arboristsite

Being that you're in the northwest, check out Tim Kovar's rec climbing courses on the New Tribe site. It's a great way to get foundation training in tree climbing practices and safety.
Tim's courses

By your posts it looks like you're doing a good job of teaching yourself to climb trees but there's nothing like working with a good instructor.
-moss

Originally posted by coonrad
I've been working with computer networks for the past 8 years or so. I've been successful and make decent money. However, I have trouble seeing myself sitting in front of a computer for another 8 years. Have you seen the movie 'office space?'...think of me.