Hi ! I was "new" a while ago....

• Tree Spider
  • Tree Spider's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
7 years 8 months ago - 7 years 8 months ago #137635 by Tree Spider
Hi ! I was "new" a while ago.... was created by Tree Spider
I've put off introducing myself long enough...didn't mean to hesitate or hide, just hate trying to put things in words.

I've intentionally stuck to being self taught, ( ok, with help from mass amounts of youtube and other assorted online reading of course ! ) in small part because of the cost, but I figured, whatever I could learn while in the brief company of those more knowledgable than myself comes with no insurance of my remembering it.

My current gear setup is a rock climbing harness, with camping mattress foam zip tied on, legs and waist. Doesn't sound very comfy, ( especially at my 270 lbs ) but I recently climbed up several feet and sat back ( clipped my chest harness in to keep me at the reclined / erect position I wanted ) and took a snack break, for a test. Shifting was necessary, but no hint of numbness or pain.
The chest harness is just a piece of 2" wide strap with camping mattress foam zip tied, a pass through metal buckle in front. It's not being used for any life support, only to maintain my desired seating position. I do this by using a cam buckle sliding tie down strap and a small biner at the end, which I clip to my waist ascenders biner. The opposite end of that strap is hand sewn into a loop that the chest harness strap goes through. I wear a pair of military Y suspenders attached to my harness, just to help support the weight of a bunch of excess I enjoy carrying.