IDEA Website to find local trees? Sound good? :)

• lukehesluke
  • lukehesluke's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
7 years 2 months ago #137751 by lukehesluke
Hey lovely people: have been toying with this idea to make a website for finding nearby trees to climb

I love climbing trees. I'm a complete amateur (only free climbing, etc) but would like to do it more. This is pretty difficult to do consistently in the urban hell-hole that is London. Couldn't find anything like a directory of good spots, so thought I'd give it a try myself

As I'm just a novice, I would like to get a better feel for how or whether or not something like this could help more experienced climbers. QUESTIONS:

- What kinds of things do you want to know about a tree before attempting a climb? Free climb vs rope? Easy vs hard? What kind of tree? Location? Pictures? Description? (etc)
- SAFETY: Would pictures of individual trees be enough to let Johnny Anybody know that a tree is safe or dangerous? Is this unavoidable?
- ENVIRONMENT: Public website could be seen by dozens (hundreds?) of people. If they all start climbing the same trees (multiple climbs a day), will this damage the tree irreperably?
- Is this a good idea? Would this actually be useful to any of you (cityfolk especially)? Is it stupid and I'm an idiot? (promise I won't hold it against you)

Otherwise, just general feedback. Openly interested in youse guys' opinions

Much appreciate you guys

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 2 months ago #137755 by patty
Hi Luke,