Hunter new to climbing

• Wilks132
  • Wilks132's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 1 month ago #136356 by Wilks132
Hunter new to climbing was created by Wilks132
Hello to all, let me begin by saying that ive been lurking for a long time and have learned a lot by reading these forums! I've been intrigued by climbing trees since I was about 10. But until about a year or so ago did not know just how much. I'm a police officer in Delaware and a SWAT member. I went to a school and learned tactical rappeling and fast roping and was hooked by being up high and climbing ropes. Rock climbing has never really caught my attention as there is a lack of mountains and large rocks in my area. I'm also a devoted deer hunter. Which brings me to why I'm here. I found that a lot of hunters are using tree saddles to hunt from as they are more safe than traditional tree climbing stands. Enter the new tribe aero hunter. The aero hunter is the same as the walkabout. So I can use the harness to hunt from and recreational climb with. My plan is to use the harness to climb the tree i will hunt from then tie off and hunt. The difference between the walkabout and the aero hunter is the length of the bridge. The aero hunters bridge is much longer so that the hunter can move about to get into a shooting position. I called new tribe and asked it a double bridge could be set up on the walkabout as it uses a rigging plate with multiple holes. They told me it could. My plan is to use one short bridge to climb up and then use the longer bridge in the tree to hunt from. I would live to hear some suggestions as I am completely new so please forgive me!

Here are my basic questions: