Harness and Lanyards for Beginner

• BrianF
  • BrianF's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
7 years 6 months ago #137678 by BrianF
Harness and Lanyards for Beginner was created by BrianF
I'm just getting into recreational tree climbing. Right now climbing a tree means picking one with some appropriate branches and climbing as high as I dare to go. So right now my priority is adding a harness and some staggering attachment points, basically a harness and 2 lanyards. That way I can climb and not fall to the ground if I make a mistake.

I know that there are some nice starter kits, but they just seem too complicated and effective. For one thing, it just seems like too much to learn about at once. I'd be getting a big bag full of stuff that I don't even know how to use properly. Right now my number one priority is simply making a slip not automatic death or serious injury. In just want to have some fall protection.

Plus I'm not feeling drawn to the rope assisted climbing techniques. To me they seem too effective. Like I can just buy a kit, practice for a while, and then go out and climb almost any tree I can find. I'm not an arborist and don't need to rope my way directly to the top every single time. To me it is fun to look for good climbing trees, find ones that seem to be climbable at my skill level, plan a route, test my strength, that sort of thing. I want to have to pick good trees and have more possibilities open up as my skills expand.

Anyway, I'm looking for thoughts on harnesses and lanyards. I'd also like to hear thoughts on more minimalist sport climbing styles, alternatives to arborist climbing techniques though perhaps that is a topic for another thread.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 months ago #137680 by HickoryLeaf
Replied by HickoryLeaf on topic Harness and Lanyards for Beginner
Brian

Welcome