• chiutai
  • chiutai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
8 years 8 months ago #137412 by chiutai
self made harness was created by chiutai
Hi all
I'm new to tree climbing, as a novice I climbed very frequently in the past several months. The pics which I showed is the harness I made. please comment on it.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• chiutai
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
8 years 8 months ago #137413 by chiutai
Replied by chiutai on topic self made harness
Harness used in climbing
Attachments:

More
8 years 8 months ago #137414 by moss
Replied by moss on topic self made harness
Too painful for me. Those sling/leg straps would cause my legs to go completely numb in minutes!

Look up "Harness Hang Syndrome"

It doesn't seem to have a waist belt, if you invert you're going to have some problems.
-AJ

More
8 years 8 months ago - 8 years 8 months ago #137415 by moss
Replied by moss on topic self made harness
I would list the following as the minimal requirements for a safe tree climbing harness:

1. Waist belt with a life support quality closure/buckle
2. Leg straps with sufficient pressure distribution that a climber can sit in the harness with feet off the tree for at least 10 minutes. Things can happen very quickly in trees where you have to solve a problem and you can't get your feet on the tree, sometimes for a very long time.
3. All harness components and connections designed and fabricated to create life support quality for work positioning climbing.