What do you carry and how do you carry it?

• jimw
  • jimw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
More
20 years 1 month ago - 20 years 1 month ago #123453 by jimw
I'm brand new to climbing, having just acquired my equipment. I visited Blue Ridge Arborist Supply (Culpeper VA--great store!) and Jay (kernsloth) was super-helpful. I also bought several items from New Tribe (another great place).

Now that I have this cool stuff (just received my saddle from New Tribe today), I realize that I don't really know just what to carry aloft, and how to carry it.

Some of the things I got from New Tribe are:
--open climb bucket
--zippered climb bucket
--monkeytail safety strap
--limb loop

I also have carabiners, throw weights, etc., etc.--literally everything one would need (yes, I remembered to get rope, too).

The question is, what do you strap to yourself, and where do you put it? What do you put in what bag, and where is that bag located? What do you clip to the saddle's accessory rings?

Of course, one would want to have the most-often used things easy to get to, while something that might not be needed could be at the bottom of a bag.

You get the picture.

So . . . what do you carry and where/how do you carry it?

I hope to climb soon under Jay's tutelage, and I'm sure he'll be able to address this, but I thought it would be of value for all of us to get input from those of you who are experienced.

Thanks!!

Peace.

Jim

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 years 1 month ago - 20 years 1 month ago #123457 by Tom Dunlap
Replied by Tom Dunlap on topic What do you carry and how do you carry it?
I'm going to see if I can attach a pic. First try here...

Strong limbs and single ropes!
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

More
20 years 1 month ago - 20 years 1 month ago #123458 by Tom Dunlap
Picture