• bennysheehan
  • bennysheehan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
18 years 2 months ago - 18 years 2 months ago #126818 by bennysheehan
Brisbane QLD Australia was created by bennysheehan
Hi,

I am new to Tree Climbing, but would really like to get into it. I googled 'tree climbing clubs' etc, but to no avail. So I am looking for anyone interested in meeting with me and another buddy on week ends to give it a bash. We are in Brisbane QLD, and have access to gear through work (Vermeer and Arbor Warehouse). Please email on bsheehan@vermeeraustralia or PM me if your keen.

Cheers, Ben.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 years 1 month ago - 18 years 1 month ago #126844 by treeman
Replied by treeman on topic What kind of trees do you have?
Being here at the States, I often wonder what kind of climbing you have down under. Could you tell us here about what the trees are like your way?

Possibly you could talk one of us into climbing when we are there.

Waving from a treetop,
Peter Treeman Jenkins

• ziontree
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
18 years 1 month ago - 18 years 1 month ago #127022 by ziontree
Replied by ziontree on topic Brisbane Trees
Greetings Treeman (and Benny)
We climb alot of different trees here. Brisbane is subtropical and therefore many different types of trees survive even some temperate ones. Eucalyptus, melaleuca's, Ficus (figs many different types), some rainforest species like Flindersia's and even mangos.
Our two major weeds (Cinnamomum camphora and Celtis sinensis) are easy to climb lots of low spreading branches (decurrent form).
The Eucalypts when mature have few major branches with big gaps between them, advancing the TIP can be difficult, big shots are often required. They dont get big like the Tasmanian ones (Eucalyptus regnans-90ms), 40m is a big tree here. These trees are mainly climbed for work purposes as rec climbing is not big here.