Bard College grove

• Tear
  • Tear's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
20 years 5 months ago - 20 years 5 months ago #122868 by Tear
Bard College grove was created by Tear
Hey all. Hope everyone had a blessed day.

I am a freshman at Bard College, a super-awesome, tiny, liberal arts school about 90 miles north of NYC, right on the Hudson. I was recently certified as a facilitator, and have set a goal of establishing a grove here. I am a part of the Trustee Leader Scholar Program ( http://inside.bard.edu/campus/services/tls/ ), an organization that allows selected, motivated students to develop leadership skills through the design and implementation of a community service project. And mine is (hopefully) going to be a grove. It would start out with just Bard students, in much the same vein as Outdoor Club activities, but as more people got involved and committed, would expand to incorporate local kids, especially those from the Astor Home, a residential facility for kids with terrible backgrounds that TLS is also involved with. I am subscribing to the idea that "The best way to learn is to teach," and so my goal is to end up training lots of students as facilitators so they can lead climbs and continue after I'm gone. I'm about to meet with the Director of Athletics, head of Horticulture Dept., and head of business affairs to discuss my plans with them and get their approval. I've already received extremely generous offers from the good folk at New Tribe and OK Arborist Supply in terms of gear acquisition, and am looking forward to getting this (literally) off the ground.

Just wanted to let everyone know what I'm up to, here in the nearly icy Northlands, so far from my home in Dixie. Any comments or suggestions or question or donations (monetary or in-kind) are greatly appreciated.

Off to bed. Be well.
Joshua

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tear
  • Visitor
  • Visitor