• moss
  • moss's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
16 years 10 months ago - 16 years 10 months ago #129927 by moss
The most beautiful tree was created by moss
At least it seemed so at the time...

The Saturday group climb was cancelled due to persistent rain. So my wife and I climbed on Sunday, it still rained but it turned out just fine.

More photos

-moss

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 10 months ago - 16 years 10 months ago #129928 by link774
Replied by link774 on topic The most beautiful tree
Nice photos, moss! Glad the climb went well. That is a very nice looking tree. I'm no expert in tree health, is all that growth dangerous to the tree? I've seen that stuff all over the place but don't know the name of it.

- Link

• moss
  • moss's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
More
16 years 10 months ago - 16 years 10 months ago #129929 by moss
Replied by moss on topic The most beautiful tree

Originally posted by Link774
Nice photos, moss! Glad the climb went well. That is a very nice looking tree. I'm no expert in tree health, is all that growth dangerous to the tree? I've seen that stuff all over the place but don't know the name of it.

- Link

Thanks Link.

I'm not sure of the exact species but it is in the family of Greenshield lichens, genus Flavoparmelia. It could be either baltimorensis or caperata. Caperata is known as "Common greenshield lichen". There are several other species of lichens mixed in but the greenshield is dominant.

Lichens are not known to have any negative effect on tree bark. The beech hosting these lichens is in an area where similar sized beeches have been core dated to 300 years old. The tree is exceptionally healthy for a beech of its age and shows no sign of problems from the lichens.