• arbolito
  • arbolito's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
20 years 5 months ago - 20 years 5 months ago #122836 by arbolito
Climb to an eagle nest was created by arbolito
Hello all,

I thought you might like hearing about an interesting climb I had recently. I'm fairly new to the world of tree climbing, and this was my first climb that wasn't purely recreational. I need to give a little background first, though...

It started with a phone call a few weeks ago from my friend Shelly, who works as a biologist for the Department of Fish and Wildlife on the Olympic Penninsula here in Washington state. Among other things, she's responsible for handling issues relating to bald eagles, a species listed as threatened in Washington. She told me that she had just gotten a call from a fish biologist who works for the Forest Service and is studying bull trout, another threatened species in Washington. In order to study their movements, he has implanted radio transmitters in several fish. The signal they had been receiving from one of the transmitters indicated that the fish hadn't moved for a week or so. When they went out with a hand-held receiver and got a more precise fix, they concluded that the fish in question ended up in an eagle nest at the top of a Douglas-fir. So, since Shelly knew that I'd been learning tree climbing, she asked if I'd be interested in climbing up to the nest and trying to recover the transmitter. Would anyone on this forum have had to think even a moment before answering that one? Heck yeah, I'll do it!