• andy and India
  • andy and India's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
13 years 1 month ago #135197 by andy and India
Branch strength was created by andy and India
Hi all.

I am new to this so hopefully am doing things right. I am planning on setting up a venture hauling people up big trees for picnic lunches. I can haul 2 people up a tree with a 9 to 1 pulley system with ease and I can calculate all Safe Working Loads with the kit I am using as its rated to a Minimum Braking Strain. Unfortunately the branches I am using do not come complete with certified breaking strains. The tree in question is Eucalyptus and the branches are about 12 inches in diameter. I realise the further out the branch the load is placed, the more leverage and strain is placed on its join to the main trunk. Is there a calculation to ascertain the strength of the join, which will see the most force ? On close inspection I can see there is no rot or damage to the branches.

Hope someone can help.

Cheers,

Andy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 1 month ago - 13 years 1 month ago #135201 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Re:Branch strength
It would be smart to hire an arborist consultant to assess the tree or trees you want to use and to discuss load parameters for what you want to do.

Assuming a healthy tree from bottom to top, placing the rope at the trunk union on a 12" diameter limb is a good start, definitely want an expert on site to do a full assessment.
-AJ
Last edit: 13 years 1 month ago by moss.

• greenluck
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
13 years 1 month ago - 13 years 1 month ago #135203 by greenluck
Replied by greenluck on topic Re:Branch strength
Inspecting the tree and limbs for rot, damage, or other hazards is the first step. Locating a limb of decent size and location is the next step.